New Face of Management In Covenant University

New Face of Management In Covenant University

New Face of Management In Covenant University

Vice-Chancellor, Covenant University, Professor Charles K. Ayo unveiling new Members of Management at the Assembly

The Vice-Chancellor of Covenant University, Professor Charles K. Ayo, has announced the transfer of four Principal Officers of the University back to the Proprietor base, the Living Faith Church Worldwide. The officers are, the Registrar, Dr. Ubong Ntia; the Dean of Student Affairs, Pastor Biodun Adebiyi; and the Chaplain, Pastor Victor Oluwadamilare; and the Director Physical Planning & Development, Pastor Joseph Olamife.

The announcement was made on Monday, 12th of August, 2013, in a meeting with members of the University Senate, and later that day, at the Chancellor’s Assembly.

While addressing the members of Management, Faculty and Staff of the University, the Vice Chancellor noted that change is essential for organizational advancement. He said the Principal Officers had to leave for higher duties.


Mr. Muyiwa Fadugba, newly appointed Registrar, Covenant University


The newly appointed officers are, Mr. Muyiwa Fadugba, a pioneer graduate of Covenant University, as the Registrar; Dr. (Mrs.) Ada Sonia Peter, a pioneer graduate of Covenant University, as the Chaplain; Mr. Azubuike Ezenwoke, a former Chairman of the Covenant University Students Council, as the Dean, Student Affairs. Arc. Gbenga Alalade, a pioneer student of Covenant University, was re-appointed as the Director, Physical Planning & Development (PPD).

The Vice-Chancellor, who made the announcement on behalf of the Chairman, Board of Regents, Dr. David Oyedepo, explained that it was high time the ‘Eagles’ started taking up key positions in the University in order to showcase what they have been taught and to further establish the Leadership capacity of the Covenant University products.

Other appointees include, Professor C. Loto, who replaced Professor S. Adefila as the Dean, College of Science and Technology; Dr. P. Alege, replaced Professor O. Olunrinola as the HOD, Economics and Development Studies; Dr. S. A. Ogbiye, replaced Professor J. B. Adeyeri as the HOD, Civil Engineering; Dr. K. O. Ajanaku, took over from Dr. (Mrs.) A. I. Inegbenebor, as HOD, Chemistry. A new Sub-Dean was appointed for the School of Postgraduate Studies, in the person of Dr. Justine Daramola. He is replacing Dr. S. N. Chinedu, who is now a Director in the newly established Directorate of Quality Assurance.


A cross section of Faculty and Staff at the Assembly



There was also change of guards in two of the University’s Centres – the Centre for Systems and Information Services and the Centre for Entrepreneurial Development Studies, where Pastor Stephen Ogah, a pioneer student of CU, and Dr. Chinonye Moses are taking over from the incumbents as Directors respectively.

The Vice-Chancellor enjoined the members of staff, Faculty and Management to cooperate with the newly appointed officers in other to move the University forward on its journey to achieving its vision of 1 of 10 in 10.

He commended the Board of Regents of the University for its consistency in providing incentives to the staff to encourage better performance. Also, he announced the result of a recent staff evaluation exercise in Covenant University which has led to the promotion of a total of 57 staff members.


Education Secretary, Living Faith Church, Worldwide, Professor Aize Obayan making her remarks at the assembly


According to the VC, there were a total of 27 Academic staff promoted to Senior Lecturers; a total of 19 staff to Lecturer I; and 6 others promoted to Lecturer II. The Centre for Learning Resources had 3 staff members promoted to Senior Resource Officers, 2 staff members to Resource Officer I, while 2 others were promoted to Resource Officer II.

He went on to say that Prima Facie has been established for thirteen (13) Faculties who applied for promotion to the Professorial Cadre, and their papers are being processed for external assessment. Out of the number, three (3) are being considered for full Professorship, and eleven (11) for Associate Professorial Cadre.

Also present at the meeting were, the Chancellor, Covenant University, Dr. David Olaniyi Oyedepo; the Executive Secretary LFCWW, Pastor Yemi Nathaniel; the Education Secretary LFCWW, Professor Aize Obayan, among others.

Click here for more images