Covenant University Honours Professors Ayeni, Obayan

Covenant University Honours Professors Ayeni, Obayan

Covenant University Honours Professors Ayeni, Obayan

Pioneer Vice-Chancellor of Covenant University, Professor Bola Ayeni making his remarks during the Valedictory Dinner organised for him and the immediate past Vice-Chancellor, Professor Aize Obayan

It was an evening full of encomiums and celebration of success as the proprietors of Covenant University honoured two of her past Vice-Chancellors at a valedictory dinner on Monday, November 26, 2012

The pioneer Vice-Chancellor, Professor Bola Ayeni and the immediate past Vice-Chancellor, Professor Aize Obayan were both honoured for their relentless service and commitment to the fulfilment of the Vision of the University.

In the words of the Chancellor, Dr. David Oyedepo, the occasion was to honour these two great leaders who had contributed in no small measure to the growth of the University.

“I heard from God that these two people must be honoured, and God has ordained tonight to honour them having remembered their sacrifices. We are here to honour two great leaders who have contributed to the growth of Covenant University”, he said.

He prayed for them that they shall still bring forth good fruits even in old age.

Also eulogizing them for their meritorious service and brilliant ideas brought on board the University, the First Vice-President, Living Faith Church Worldwide (LFCWW), Bishop David Abioye described them as waiters who waited on their master.


Immediate past Vice-Chancellor of Covenant University, Professor Aize Obayan giving her remarks during the Valedictory Dinner organised for her and pioneer Vice-Chancellor, Professor Bola Ayeni


He described Professor Ayeni as a leader who demonstrated leadership by example and practice what he preached. On Professor Obayan, he said she is a committed learner who became an outstanding leader through learning.

Also speaking at the event, the Vice-President, (Education) of the Living Faith Church Worldwide, Pastor (Mrs.) Faith Oyedepo said that one thing common to both of them is humility. According to her, they both demonstrated humility which was why God elevated them.

The Missioner, Living Faith Church Worldwide, Bishop Thomas Aremu extolled their sense of commitment to their assignments and laying of solid foundation for the growth of the University.

Other members of the University Board of Regents, including Engineer Niyi Beecroft and Dr. Nkiru Danjuma also paid glowing tributes to the celebrants.

The highlight of the occasion was the presentation of plaque and seal of honour to both former Vice-Chancellors for meritorious service and commitment to the Vision that birthed the University.


A member of Covenant University’s Board of Regents, Justice Kumbi Oyefeso presenting asouvenir to Pioneer Vice-Chancellor, CovenantUniversity, Professor Bola Ayeni during the Valedictory Dinner for him and Professor Aize Obayan


Professor Bola Ayeni was on February 2000 appointed to head the Advisory Council inaugurated to develop appropriate structures for the take-off of the University. He was later in May 2002 appointed the Vice-Chancellor, the position he held till November 2004.

Professor Aize Obayan became the second substantive Vice-Chancellor in February 2005. Under her leadership, the University in 2005 alone was rated by the National Universities Commission (NUC) as Overall Best in a Nationwide Accreditation Programmes, Best Private University in Nigeria among 23 others and the Most Preferred Private University in Nigeria.

Between 2007 and 2012, the University won about 10 different categories of Fulbright Fellowship, including a Senior Fulbright by the new Vice-Chancellor, Professor C. K Ayo.

Under Professor Obayan’s Leadership, Covenant University attracted 24 Research and Fellowship Grants. Also, the University registered three patents in year 2010. The University also won various awards which include Best Private University with Strong Web Presence and two times Best ICT Driven University in Nigeria (2007 and 2009) and Best ICT Driven University – West Africa (2010) among others.

In his remark, Professor Ayeni said he was grateful to God for the grace to be the pioneer Vice-Chancellor. The position, according to him, gave him the opportunity to be a better teacher and researcher.


Also honoured were the immediate past DVC and Registrars at the dinner


He believed that the Vision of the University to raise a new generation of leaders is what the nation needed to get out of the doldrums it is today. He thanked the University for remembering him for honour.

Professor Obayan in her response said she never qualified for the position but was just a privileged hand-maiden who is now a lawful captive of God. All she had done according to her, was to follow hard in the footsteps of the Chancellor whose words were always a great inspiration.

Others that were recognized include the immediate past Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Professor Charles Ogbulogo, the pioneer Registrar and current Executive Secretary, LFCWW, Pastor Yemi Nathaniel, the second substantive Registrar, Dr. Daniel Rotimi and the immediate past Registrar, Dr. J. N. Taiwo.

The event was graced by many dignitaries including members of the Board of Regents of the University, members of the Education Commission (LFCWW), the Vice Chancellor, Professor C. K. Ayo, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Administration) Dr. Taiwo Abioye, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic), Dr. A. A. A. Atayero and other Principal Officers of the University and their spouses.

Click here to view pictures of event