Chemists Identified as Back Bone of Organisations

Chemists Identified as Back Bone of Organisations

Chemists Identified as Back Bone of Organisations

Guest Speaker Mrs. Tijani

Chemists, particularly those in a Quality Control Unit have been described as the backbone of the organisation. They are also identified as formulators who determine what the organisation will produce.

The Head, Quality Control Laboratory, Portland Paints and Products Nigeria Plc, Mrs Adetoun Tijani revealed this in her presentation titled, “Quality Control in the Paint Industry” at the Town & Gown seminar organised by the Department of Chemistry, Covenant University on Wednesday, November 4, 2015.

Mrs Tijani defined quality control as a procedure or set of procedures carried out to ensure that a manufactured product or performed service adheres to a defined set of criteria or standard and values, before, during and after manufacturing, to ensure customer satisfaction and compliance with statutory regulations.

She said, “Quality control is the heart of every organisation, therefore the Quality Control Officer has to be present throughout the production process to ensure quality.”

Mrs Tijani explained the processes involved in paint manufacturing and emphasised that the manufacturing instructions have to be adhered to in order to achieve the desired results.

“Poor adulterated raw material and a wrong manufacturing process will never produce a good product; hence quality checks on raw materials and finished products are essential in order to get the desired benefits from such products,” she explained.

She added that quality checks say a lot about the image of any organisation, therefore, a product’s quality should never be compromised.

The Head of the Department of Chemistry, Professor Kolawole Ajanaku, in his remarks noted that the purpose of the Town & Gown seminar was to establish interaction between the knowledge obtained from the four walls of the University and the industry in order to produce job ready graduates.

The seminar which was the fourth in the series was attended by staff of the department including Dr. Akan Williams, Dr. Benson Nsikak, Dr. Mordi Raphael, Dr. Cyril Ehi-Eromosele, Dr. Tolutope Siyanbola, Mrs Abimbola Akinsiku, Mrs Christiana Ajanaku, postgraduate and undergraduate students of the department.